Boys Varsity Basketball · DNJ Story: All-Area Boys Basketball

He scored more than 900 points in just his senior season, winning Class A Mr. Basketball. He is also The Daily News Journal’s all-area boys player of the year for the second consecutive season.

McClaran, who transferred to Eagleville prior to his junior season (after already having scored 1,000 points at Forrest), tallied more than 1,500 during his two years with the Eagles, leading the team to the state tournament as a junior and a sectional appearance as a senior.

“At Eagleville I was able to grow and become a better player while being around a group of guys and coaches that loved the game as much as I did,” McClaran said. “Representing the town, school and community was a blessing, and I’m proud of everything we were able to accomplish. I’m hopeful and confident that the culture we’ve set will last for years to come.”

During his senior season, McClaran averaged 30 points, six rebounds and three assists. He surpassed the 50-point mark once and topped 40 two other times, including a 44-point performance in the Region 4-A semifinals.

He has signed to play at Freed-Hardeman next season.

The DNJ’s all-area boys basketball teams include:

First team

Ryley McClaran

Eagleville, Sr.

Position: Guard

Why chosen: The Class A Mr. Basketball winner, Freed-Hardeman signee and all-area player of the year averaged 30 points, six rebounds and three assists in leading the Eagles to the sectionals.

Ray Tyler

Blackman, Sr.

Position: Guard

Why chosen: Led Blackman to the AAA state tournament by averaging 13.5 points and 2.2 assists and shooting 41% from 3-point range.

 Antuan Williams

La Vergne, Sr.

Position: Guard

Why chosen: The District 7-AAA co-MVP led the league in scoring (23 ppg) and shot 41% from 3-point range before a season-ending knee injury just before the postseason.

De’Arre McDonald

Oakland, Sr.

Position: Forward

Why chosen: The Cincinnati football signee averaged 14.4 points and 3.8 rebounds.

Matthew Schneider

Siegel, Jr.

Position: Forward

Why chosen: The District 7-AAA co-MVP averaged 17.5 points and six rebounds and shot 80.5% from the free-throw line, leading the Stars to the AAA sectional.

Second team

Guard: Devin Kline, La Vergne, Sr.

Guard: Jalen Page, Blackman, Jr.

Guard: Jaylan Wetzel, Siegel, Jr.

Forward: D.D. Anderson, Oakland, Sr.

Forward: Savon Wykle, Smyrna, Sr.

Third team

Guard: Jayden Hernandez, Central Magnet, Jr.

Guard: Bryce Jackson, Stewarts Creek, So.

Guard: Zion Swader, Siegel, Jr.

Forward: Jalen Stayton, Blackman, Sr.

Forward: Preston Whittington, Riverdale, Sr.

Coach of the year

Barry Wortman

Why chosen: Led Blackman to District 7-AAA regular-season and tournament titles, a Region 4-AAA championship and a berth in the Class AAA state tournament.